FGM Educational Illustrations

Female genital mutilation (FGM) is a harmful practice that comprises all procedures that involve partial or total removal of the external female genitalia, or other injury to the female genital organs for non-medical reasons. Female genital mutilation is classified into four main types.

Type 1 – Clitoridectomy
Type 2 – Excision
Type 3– Infibulation
Type 4 – Includes all other harmful procedures to the female genitalia for non-medical purposes (e.g. pricking, piercing, incising, scraping and cauterising the genital area)

Our illustrations show these main types.

If using these illustrations in your own presentations, please credit Savera UK with the inclusion of its website address saverauk.co.uk.

Click the links below to download each image.